Mo-s cities

In this table, we provide the main cities of Morocco including the census information. The red marked cities (census info) are included as UNESCO sites and the blue marked cities (census info) contain a  Walled Medina. However, it is good to notice that all the cities which are on the Moroccan UNESCO list have also walled Medina’s.


 City  Census  Administrative Region Touristic region
Casablanca 3,359,818 Grand Casablanca-Settat Centre Atlantique
Fez 1,150,131 Fès-Meknès Maroc Centre
Tanger 243,082 Tanger-Tétouan-Al Hoceima Cap Nord
Marrakesh 928,850 Marrakech-Safi Marrakech Atlantique
Salé 890.403 Rabat-Salé-Kénitra Centre Atlantique
Meknes 520.428 Fès-Meknès Centre Atlantique
Rabat 577.827 Rabat-Salé-Kénitra Centre Atlantique
Kenitra 672,700 Rabat-Salé-Kénitra Centre Atlantique
Oujda 494,252 Oriental Maroc Méditerranée
Tetouan 380.787 Tanger-Tétouan-Al Hoceima Cap Nord
Beni Mellal 447,330 Béni Mellal-Khénifra Atlas et Vallées
Inezgane Ait Melloul 385,612 Souss-Massa Souss Sahara Atlantique
Safi 308.508 Marrakech-Safi Centre Atlantique
Agadir (-Ida Ou Tanan) 421.884 Souss-Massa Souss Sahara Atlantique
Nador 161,726 Oriental Maroc Méditerranée
Khouribga 196,196 Béni Mellal-Khénifra Centre Atlantique
Settat 142,250 Grand Casablanca-Settat Centre Atlantique
Temara 313,510 Rabat-Salé-Kénitra Centre Atlantique
Khenifra 117,510 Rabat-Salé-Kénitra Atlas et Vallées
Taza 148.456 Fès-Meknès Maroc Centre
Mohammedia 208,612 Grand Casablanca-Settat Centre Atlantique
Khemisset 131,542 Rabat-Salé-Kénitra Centre Atlantique
Sidi Kacem 75,672 Rabat-Salé-Kénitra Centre Atlantique
Azrou 54.350 Fès-Meknès Maroc Centre
Errachidia 92,374 Draa-Tafilalet Atlas et Vallées
El Jedida 194,934 Grand Casablanca-Settat Centre Atlantique
Taroudant 80.046 Souss-Massa Souss Sahara Atlantique
El Kelaa Des Sraghna   95,224 Marrakech-Safi Marrakech Atlantique
Berkane 109,237 Oriental Maroc Méditerranée
Ouarzazate 148,537 Draa-Tafilalet Atlas et Vallées
Ksar el Kebir 126,617 Tanger-Tétouan- Al Hoceima Cap Nord
Larache 125,008 Tanger-Tétouan-Al Hoceima Cap Nord
Taourirt 103,398 Oriental Maroc Méditerranée
Essaouira 77.966 Marrakech-Safi Marrakech Atlantique
El Hajeb 35,282 Fès-Meknès Centre Atlantique
Tiznit   82.858 Souss-Massa Souss Sahara Atlantique
Azilal 38,520 Béni Mellal-Khénifra Atlas et Vallées
Ifrane 14,659 Fès-Meknès Maroc Centre
Benslimane 57,101 Grand Casablanca-Settat Centre Atlantique
Taounate 37,616 Fès-Meknès Maroc Centre
Jerada 43,506 Oriental Maroc Méditerrané
Sefrou 79.887 Fès-Meknès Maroc Centre
Figuig 10.872 Oriental Atlas et Vallées
Tan-Tan 73,209 Guelmim-Oued Noun Souss Sahara Atlantique
Ouezzane 59.606 Tanger-Tétouan-Al Hoceima Centre Atlantique
Al Hoceima   56,716 Tanger-Tetouan-Al Hoceima Cap Nord
Zagora 40,067 Drâa-Tafilalet Atlas et Vallées
Chefchaouen 42,786 Tanger-Tétouan-Al Hoceima Cap Nord
Azemmour 40,920 Grand Casablanca-Settat Centre Atlantique
Kasba Tadla 47.343 Béni Mellal-Khénifra Atlas et Vallées
46.893 Béni Mellal-Khénifra Centre Atlantique
Asilah 31.147 Tanger-Tétouan-Al Hoceima Cap Nord
Demnate 29.504 Béni Mellal-Khénifra Atlas et Vallées
Risani 5.010 Drâa-Tafilalet Atlas et Vallées
Sidi Ifni 21,618 Guelmim-Oued Noun Souss Sahara Atlantique
Ksar es-Seghir 12, 997 Tanger-Tétouan-Al Hoceima Cap Nord
Moulay Idriss 11.615 Fès-Meknès Centre Atlantique
Oualidia 5,433 Casablanca-Settat Centre Atlantique
Tafraoute 6,345 Souss-Massa Souss Sahara Atlantique
Debdou 4.960 Oriental  Maroc Mediterranee
Saïdia 8,780 Oriental  Maroc Mediterranee
Moulay Yacoub  3,153 Fès-Meknès  Maroc Centre