Mo-s UNESCO sites

In Morocco, there are in total 7 medina’s and 5 other cultural sights included on the UNESCO’s world list of cultural heritage.

The list includes the 4 imperial cities, to be more precise the old Medina’s of Fez (1981), Marrakech (1985), Mekness (1996), and Rabat (2012).

Also the old Medina’s of Essaouirra – Mogador (2001), El Jedida (2004), and Tetouan (1997) are included on this list.

Next to the 7 walled Medina’s, 2 other tangible sites are on the UNESCO list:
– the Ksar of Ait ben Haddou (1987),
– the archaeological site Voubilis (1997)

Morocco has also other heritage sites which are included on the representative List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity:
– In fact, Marrakech is included twice on the UNESCO cultural heritage list: The old Medina (1985) and the square Jmaa El Fna (2008).
– the Moussem of Tan-Tan (2008)
– the Cherry festival of Sefrou (2012),
– Falconry, a living human heritage (2012)
– the Mediterrranean Diet of Chefchouaen (2013),
– Argan, practices and know-how concerning the argan tree (2014)

In total, there are also 5 other locations which are nominated to be added to the UNESCO’s heritage list. These sites are mentioned on the so called tentative list, which includes: Taza (1995), Moulay Idriss (1995), Larache – Lixus (1995), Casablanca (2013), and Figuig (2011).